Thank you for being a valued member of the visitor industry in Sioux Falls!

It is our pleasure to represent the #1 Host City in The Heart of America.

Mission: To market the city of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, as a one-of-a-kind visitor destination, and to provide premier visitor services, and increase visitor spending, in order to enhance economic impact throughout the community.

Purpose of the Business Improvement District (BID)

The Experience Sioux Falls (ESF) BID was created for the purpose of funding the marketing and promotion of the visitor industry in the city of Sioux Falls and its hotels and motels located within the district through Experience Sioux Falls. 

ESF Business Improvement District (BID) Board

BID Voting Members

  • Tom Morris - Chair, ESF Executive Committee, Kelly Inns, Ltd.
  • Sara McMahon - Vice-Chair, Comfort Inn & Suites
  • Scott Garrett - Secretary, Holiday Inn City Centre
  • Thea Miller-Ryan - Immediate Past-Chair, The Outdoor Campus
  • Tracy Kolb - Hampton Inn by Hilton
  • Paul Hegg - Hegg Companies
  • Jean Hoesing - Ramada Hotel & Suites
  • Usha Parmar - Super 8
  • Greg Jamison - At-Large

BID Non-Voting Members

  • Teri Schmidt - Executive Director, Experience Sioux Falls
  • Janet Brekke - Sioux Falls City Council

For more information regarding bylaws and ordinances visit the city of Sioux Falls website.

ESF Advisory Council

ESF Executive Committee:

  • Frank Gurnick - Chair, Dakota Alliance Soccer Club
  • Jan Grunewaldt - Vice-Chair, Best Western PLUS Sioux Falls Ramkota
  • Cindy Walsh - Treasurer, GreatLIFE
  • Teri Schmidt - Executive Director, Experience Sioux Falls
  • Sara McMahon - Past-Chair, Comfort Inn & Suites

ESF Voting Members:

  • Tove Bormes - Rug and Relic
  • Lauren Fosheim - Farmers Business Network
  • Todd Heitkamp - National Weather Service & Dakota Angler
  • Patti Lyon - Sioux Falls Police Department, Retired
  • Shailesh Patel - Hampton Inn, TownePlace Suites, Hampton Inn SW
  • Jessie Schmidt - Better Business Bureau
  • Jodi Schwan - SiouxFalls.Business
  • Amy Smolik - Friessen Development, Inc.
  • Riccardo Tarabelsi - R Wine Bar
  • Terry Vandrovec - Sanford Sports Complex
  • Stacy Wrightsman - Sanford Health Public Affairs
2018 Annual Report

Click here for the 2018 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report

Click here for an overview of the 2019 Annual Report